Real estate briefs



The Center for Architecture Sarasota, Inc. (CFAS), a newly formed nonprofit organization dedicated to the preservation and education of the built environment, has named its first board of directors:
• Cynthia Peterson, a certified archivist and director of operations of the Elling O. Eide Charitable Foundation.
• Wilson Stiles, an architect with a specialty in historic preservation and an interior design practice.
• James Keaton, a graphic designer, artist and principal of Gardner Keaton, Inc.
• Alan Sprintz, a management consultant and former executive vice president of Lunch at Hand.
• Michelle Young, a marketing consultant and vice president of DWY Landscape Architects.

In addition to early individual donations, CFAS has received the support of the Sarasota Alliance for Historic Preservation through a donation.

“The donation by the Alliance is essential to providing CFAS with the necessary funds to build this exciting new organization,” said Peterson, who is also president of the new group.

“Not only are we partnering with the University of Florida School of Architecture in bringing a graduate program to Sarasota in 2014, but also we are developing a community space for exhibits, lectures and programs that fosters a dialogue on the importance of our past, present and future environment.”

Peterson identified CFAS’s goals:
• Provide a sustainable platform for UF’s CityLab-Sarasota graduate studies in architecture program.
• Advocate for the historical preservation and revival of Sarasota School of Architecture buildings.
• Promote and educate Sarasotans and visitors to the legacy of the founding architects of the Sarasota School of Architecture and the history of the built environment as it relates to the region’s heritage.

“Together with our members, we can preserver the history of innovative architecture in Sarasota while helping to shape the future of the profession through education,” she said.

The center will be located at 265 S. Orange Ave. in a renovated 1960 building designed by William Rupp and Joe Farrell.



Last modified: September 27, 2013
All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be published without permissions. Links are encouraged.